Copyright © 2008 - 2017
No part of this blog may be reproduced without express permission from the author/blog owner.

Saturday, January 30, 2010

BOOK REVIEW: The Silent Governess


I’m not a huge fan of the regency genre, so this book was a bit hard for me to get into.  However, for those who ARE into “lords, ladies and manors” – this book will most likely be enjoyable.   

As the story begins, Olivia Keene is fleeing from a terrible situation at home.  When she ventures into the woods and ends up stepping on private property, she finds herself headed to the “lock up” accused of trespassing.  Lord Bradley, owner of Brightwell Court comes to her “rescue” but only because he’s terrified at the “secret” she might have overheard, while eavesdropping.  Afraid that his past will catch up to him, Lord Bradley sentences Olivia to the position of under nurse at Brightwell Court, where she must live and work for the next three months.  Keeping her under close scrutiny, Lord Bradley determines to find out just how much she knows about him personally, and whether or not she plans to expose him.  However, as typical love stories go, they fight their growing attraction to one another while the plot thickens and they both desperately try to keep secrets from each other.    For fans of Jane Eyre and Jane Austen, this book will probably be a good read.

This book was provided free for review by Bethany House Publishers

No comments: