Copyright © 2008 - 2018
No part of this blog may be reproduced without express permission from the author/blog owner.

Tuesday, August 17, 2010

Still House Pond

Still House Pond is Book Two in the Copper Brown Series by Jan Watson.  When books are in a series I like to read them in order however I wouldn’t say it’s absolutely necessary for this book because I was able to follow the story without feeling like I missed a lot of background information from the first one.  I didn’t realize this series had almost six books in it!  

For a complete listing of titles, including the one Jan is currently working on, visit

Still House Pond continues telling the story of Copper Brown, a widow who is remarried and working as a midwife.  Copper is madly in love with her husband John and although she’s busy with her work which takes her away from home quite often, John supports her efforts and they consider it a ministry. This book also focuses on Lilly, Copper’s daughter from her first marriage, who is adventurous, fun-loving and looking forward to a visit with her aunt from the big city who spoils her rotten.  When Lilly is thought to be amongst those involved in a horrific train accident, Copper and John find their faith tested to the brink as they work to help the survivors and wait for news of Lilly’s fate.   

This book was provided free for review by Tyndale House Publishers 

About The Book:
Lilly Gray Corbett loves living on Troublesome Creek, but she would much rather play with her best friend than watch her little brother and the twins. Her mama, Copper, is often gone helping to birth babies, and Lilly has to stay home. When Aunt Alice sends a note inviting her to visit in the city, Lilly is excited to go, and Copper reluctantly agrees to let her. Later, when they hear the news that the train crashed, Copper and her husband, John, rush to find out if their daughter is injured . . . or even alive.

Read the first chapter by clicking HERE

No comments: