Copyright © 2008 - 2018
No part of this blog may be reproduced without express permission from the author/blog owner.

Saturday, September 18, 2010

Sweet Exchange - Heather Payne

Best known for her affiliation with contemporary Christian music group, Point of Grace, Heather Payne is back with her debut solo album, Sweet Exchange.

Heather refers to this new album as her "shabby chic" collection of hymns.  While the rich lyrics of old retain their meaning and depth, fresh musical arrangements make this album a beautiful blend of old and new.

For those who love hymns but have wished for a more contemporary upbeat sound, Sweet Exchange offers the best of both worlds.

I enjoyed the variety of arrangements on this album from the rock/pop version of Rock of Ages to the beautiful strings and piano on My Jesus.  

My personal favorite on this album was Heather's version of "Jesus Paid It All".

I believe that this album will expose the younger generation to the beautiful hymns of old, while still offering the contemporary sound that many look for and enjoy in Christian music today.

Album Tracks
 1. Holy, Holy, Holy
 2. O For A Thousand Tongues
 3. Rock Of Ages
 4. Hallelujah, What A Savior
 5. My Jesus
 6. Sweet Exchange
 7. O The Deep, Deep Love
 8. Pass Me Not
 9. Be Thou My Vision
10. Jesus Paid It All
11. Alas My Savior Did Bleed
12. Come Ye Sinners
13. The Gospel Song

You can listen to Sweet Exchange here:

This album was provided free for review by Megan Sims   the {m} media collective

No comments: